SA wrapped up the three-day Brics summit on Thursday with the announcement that six countries, including ostracised Iran and African powerhouse Ethiopia, will become new members of the bloc, boosting its diversity and influence in global affairs.

Brazil, Russia, India, China and SA have invited Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates to be full members of the bloc, President Cyril Ramaphosa said...

Subscribe now to unlock this article.

Support BusinessLIVE’s award-winning journalism for R129 per month (digital access only).

There’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in SA. Our subscription packages now offer an ad-free experience for readers.

Cancel anytime.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Sign up (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.