Four of parliament’s committee chairs have been accused of significant ethical violations over the past three years, but only one investigation into those alleged breaches has been finalised, and there is no certainty about when any of the other probes will be completed.

Bongani Bongo, Faith Muthambi, Tina Joemat-Pettersson and Mosebenzi Zwane, all former ministers under former president Jacob Zuma, have been subjects of complaints made to parliament’s joint committee on ethics and members interests between 2016 and 2018.

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now