Cheslin Kolbe. Picture: JONO SEARLE/GETTY IMAGES
Cheslin Kolbe. Picture: JONO SEARLE/GETTY IMAGES

SA will be without five key players for their final Rugby Championship fixtures against Australia and New Zealand.

Centres Damian de Allende and Lukhanyo Am have been laid low with shoulder injuries while wing Makazole Mapimpi’s knee injury that ruled him out of last week’s Test against the All Blacks will keep him out of action for the home leg.

Fullback Willie le Roux and loose-forward Francois Louw have rejoined their English Premiership squads.

Le Roux’s absence means Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus will have to field a new fullback for the Port Elizabeth and Tshwane Test matches.

The good news is that Cheslin Kolbe has made a decent transition to Test rugby and has played fullback at Super Rugby level, while S’bu Nkosi will be making his return for the Sharks in the Currie Cup this weekend, thereby filling a spot at wing.

However, there is a gap at outside centre which could be filled by Jesse Kriel but that all depends on the full squad that will be announced by Erasmus on Saturday.

Erasmus has announced a preliminary 17-man squad.

There are a number of Springbok probables who will be on Currie Cup duty this weekend. Erasmus said it was important for some players to get through their Currie Cup games because of a lack of action for the Springboks.

"We are still keeping an eye on a number of players who we would like to involve in the coming weeks, but we would first like to see them get through their provincial matches this weekend," Erasmus said.

"While we lost a couple of players to injury, we are looking forward to welcome back others who have recovered from injury. The two home matches will give us more time to work together as a group, to build on continuity and increase our depth."

Preliminary Bok squad

Forwards: Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi (capt), Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, RG Snyman, Warren Whiteley. Backs: Faf de Klerk, Aphiwe Dyantyi, André Esterhuizen, Elton Jantjies, Cheslin Kolbe, Jesse Kriel, Handré Pollard.