We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Four years since her appointment as a cabinet member‚ Communications Minister Nomvula Mokonyane finally became an MP on Tuesday. Mokonyane was one of seven ANC members sworn in as MPs. She fills the vacancy left by Cyril Ramaphosa who resigned as an MP following his election as president in February. Mokonyane was one of two ANC members who were appointed to the national cabinet despite not being MPs, which is provided for in the Constitution. ANC national chair Gwede Mantashe is the other ANC member in Ramaphosa’s cabinet who is not an MP.

Commenting on Tuesday’s swearing in‚ the ANC said in a statement: "The office of the ANC chief whip announces new deployments to the National Assembly to fill existing vacancies in the ANC parliamentary caucus. These vacancies were created primarily due to the passing on of some members of our caucus and the redeployment of other comrades to positions of responsibility outside parliament." The four ANC members sworn in as MPs are: • Noxolo ...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now