We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

The new commissioner of Sars will be Edward Kieswetter. His appointment by President Cyril Ramaphosa was announced by the Treasury on Wednesday evening. Kieswetter, who was the previous deputy commissioner of Sars as well as former group CEO of Alexander Forbes, will take over from acting commissioner Mark Kingon with effect from May 1 2019 for a term of five years. “The decision was informed by the recommendation to the president from the finance minister that the recommended candidate of the independent selection panel be appointed,” the Treasury said in a statement. The independent selection panel that recommended Kieswetter was chaired by former finance minister Trevor Manuel and consisted of Angela Bester, Justice Dennis Davis, Sindi Mabaso-Koyana, Treasury deputy director general Ismail Momoniat, Thandi Orleyn and Fezekile Tshiqi. Kieswetter was chosen from a list of six shortlisted candidates consisting of Nathaniel Mabetwa, Sunita Manik, Kingon, Gene Ravele and Nazrien Kader...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now