Gaynor Rupert is SA’s new champion racehorse owner, courtesy of runners who raced under the banner of her Drakenstein Stud based in Franschhoek, Western Cape.She claimed the trophy for the first time after a decade-long stranglehold on the title by Markus Jooste’s Mayfair Speculators. Rupert and other top achievers of the 2017-18 racing season were crowned at a gala banquet at Emperors Palace on Tuesday.The Drakenstein Stud runners won 38 races and amassed just more than R9m in stakes.About 95% of their winners were fillies, Rupert said at the function, "and our star was Oh Susanna, who won the SunMet. I owe this title to her."They started "with only 15 broodmares on a small section of L’Ormarins Farm. Little did we know that we’d have over 100 broodmares in our paddocks today."Oh Susanna won the award for Horse of the Year. Her trainer, Justin Snaith, landed the trophy for Champion Trainer.Special achievement awards were given to 20-year-old Lyle Hewitson, veteran jockey Anton Marc...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now