Picture: ISTOCK
Picture: ISTOCK

Two Mpumalanga municipalities, eMalahleni and Msukaligwa, will have their power cut for nonpayment, Eskom said on Thursday.

This would affect the Doornpoort, Churchill, Kwaguqa, Witbank and Ermelo areas, the utility said.

"The interruption of supply as a result of nonpayment remains an agonising decision for Eskom and is a means of last resort. We take solace in the fact that we spared no effort to collect outstanding debts amicably," the utility said in a press release.

Eskom said it had not cut off Ubuntu and Renosterberg on Wednesday as these Northern Cape municipalities "came up with acceptable payment plans for the settlement of their arrears debt".

Eskom said it its statement that to avoid supply interruptions, defaulting municipalities needed to meet the following requirements:

• A cash payment as negotiated with each municipality;

• A written undertaking in the form of a council resolution that current accounts would be honoured; and

• A payment plan for the arrears supported by a council resolution.

"Should the municipalities meet these requirements; their supply interruptions will be suspended," Eskom said.

© Business Day

Please sign in or register to comment.