The speakers for this year's Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards, which recognise supplier development best practice in SA, have been announced.

Now in their second year, the awards acknowledge successful supplier development programmes that are making a lasting impact on the SA economy.

More than 400 entries were received this year from both private and public sector enterprises, representing an array of industries including healthcare, mining, manufacturing and the built environment.

“These businesses are moving beyond the scorecard and realising they have a corporate and social responsibility to transform their supply chain, diversify procurement and actively engage in real enterprise and supplier development initiatives,” says Catherine Wijnberg, CEO of Fetola.

“The calibre of this year’s entries was notable, with some applicants displaying a clear step change in their initiatives since last year. This is a clear indicator supplier development is a way to build future strategic advantage and, when coupled with stronger industry networks and a long-term view on supporting the successful growth of small suppliers, this results in future competitive advantage and a better future for all.”

Winners of the Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards will be recognised at an interactive breakfast on May 22 2019 in Parktown, Johannesburg.

Win a seat to attend the breakfast awards on May 22

Click here to submit your details

The 2019 speakers are confirmed as follows: 

  • Keynote address: The state of supplier development in SA by Vusi Fele, chief procurement officer at Absa Group
  • Presentation: Alternative future scenarios for South African supplier development programmes by Marius Oosthuizen, an economic futurist
  • Interview: A judge’s perspective – a look back at 2019’s entries and what the finalists are doing to come out on top, by Zipho Sikhakhane in discussion with Nicholas Maweni, executive chairman of Brics Fashion

The 2019 Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards finalists to be awarded across six categories are, in alphabetical order:

  • Accenture
  • Bosch Holdings
  • Compass Group Southern Africa
  • Distell Group
  • EnviroServ Waste Management
  • Exxaro Resources 
  • Hatch Africa 
  • Macsteel
  • Mr Price Group
  • Property Point
  • PWC
  • Sappi Southern Africa
  • South African Breweries
  • Telkom

Entries were adjudicated by a panel of industry experts including Von Stander (group supplier development executive, Massmart – who was the overall winner in 2018); Mamosa Majope (MD, Wamobu Consulting); Nick Maweni (chairman, Brics Fashion, and marketing director, SAP Africa); Elmarie Goosen (director of operations, Collective Value Creation); Dr Rethabile Melamu (general manager: Green Economy, Innovation Hub); Litha Kutta (enterprise and supplier development director, Tiger Brands); Jono Hanks (director, Incite); Jon Foster-Pedley (dean, Henley Business School); and Catherine Wijnberg (CEO and Founder, Fetola).

The following awards will be made:

  • The Newcomer Award
  • The Nation-builder Award
  • The Local Manufacturing and Small Supplier Award
  • The Innovation Award
  • The Impact Award
  • The Overall Winner

The Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards are presented in partnership with Fetola, Cold Press Media, and Tiso Blackstar Group.

For more information visit the Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards website or follow the news on Facebook and Twitter