The 12 vehicles that will battle it out for the 2019 AutoTrader SA Car of the Year competition have been announced. The list in the competition, run by the SA Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ), includes vehicles from Italy, Japan, Korea, Germany, France and Sweden. George Mienie, AutoTrader CEO, believes that it is fitting to see the spread of vehicle categories contained within the list of finalists. “SA motorists have access to vehicles from all over the world and to every conceivable type. This is reflected in the list of finalists,” he notes. The finalists are the Nissan Micra, Suzuki Swift, Mercedes-Benz A-Class, Honda Civic Type R, Lexus ES, Suzuki Jimny, Renault Duster, Alfa Romeo Stelvio, Hyundai Kona, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport, Porsche Cayenne and Volvo XC40. It’s also interesting to note that sports utility vehicles (SUVs) dominate the list. The next step in the SA Car of the Year journey is the actual testing of these finalists by jury members from the SAGMJ. Each vehic...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now