Deputy president Cyril Ramaphosa and Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma have accepted nomination for the ANC presidency.  ANC treasurer-general Zweli Mkhize received 193 branch nominations for deputy president, but declined nomination on the conference floor. Mpumalanga chairman David Mabuza has been nominated on Dlamini Zuma's slate obtaining 1,128 nominations.  NEC member Lindiwe Sisulu is challenging Mabuza for the position of deputy president with 619 nominations. Outgoing ANC secretary-general Gwede Mantashe is nominated on Ramaphosa's slate as national chairman. The position will also be contested by NEC member Nathi Mthetwa.  The post of secretary-general will be fought between Free State chairman Ace Magashule and former KwaZulu-Natal chairman Senzo Mchunu. The post of treasurer-general will be contested by Gauteng chairman Paul Mashatile and NEC member Maite Nkoana-Mashabane.  The ballot paper will now be prepared and voting will begin.  This follows ANC delegates questioning their own...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now