Credentials have been adopted at the ANC's national conference, with branches in KwaZulu-Natal, the North West, Free State, Gauteng and Mpumalanga being disqualified.  Although they have been adopted, there are questions being addressed by the credentials desk. A total of 16 branches were disqualified in KwaZulu-Natal, the party's biggest province and Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma's power base.  In the Free State and North West- both provinces supporting Dlamini-Zuma - 14 and 38 were disqualified respectively. The Free State provincial executive committee (PEC) and KwaZulu-Natal's provincial leadership, both with 27 delegates, were also disqualified. This followed court judgments.  The ANC did everything to avoid litigation, which was what necessitated delaying the adoption credentials by a day, party deputy secretary-general Jessie Duarte said. The party had been fighting in court as members in KwaZulu-Natal, the Free State and the Bojanala region in North West took their issues to court....

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, Morningstar financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00.