When Brics – the club of Global South nations – was expanded by five countries in 2023, the biggest surprise was the absence of Nigeria on the list of new entrants. Brics+ diplomats are confident this omission is about to be fixed, with Nigeria’s admission to the bloc imminent.

As of January Brics – initially made up of Brazil, Russia, India, China and SA – has become Brics+ after the addition of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Iran and Ethiopia. The inclusion of Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country, will help make the bloc a force to be reckoned with...

Subscribe now to unlock this article.

Support BusinessLIVE’s award-winning journalism for R129 per month (digital access only).

There’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in SA. Our subscription packages now offer an ad-free experience for readers.

Cancel anytime.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Sign up (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.