We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Florence — Blitzbok star Seabelo Senatla became the third South African to be crowned World Sevens Player of the Year when he received the 2016 gong at an awards ceremony in London on Sunday night. Senatla‚ who has been the leading try-scorer for the past two seasons on the HSBC World Sevens Series‚ follows Werner Kok (2015) and Cecil Afrika (2011) as South African winners of the prestigious award. Senatla scored 66 tries in 10 events in the 2015-16 series – the second-highest in the 17-year history of the event – and four at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. Flyhalf Beauden Barrett became the fifth All Blacks player in succession to win the World Player of the Year following Daniel Carter (2012 and 2015)‚ Kieran Read (2013) and Brodie Retallick (2014). "It means so much and it is certainly not something I expected to be awarded‚ or even to have my name thrown in the mix with the talented players we saw nominated‚" Barrett said. "It’s a byproduct of a couple of great teams I have been a p...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now