We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Fourteen members of parliament face sanctions for failing to disclose their financial interests, gifts or travel benefits in accordance with parliamentary rules. The committee on ethics and members' interests released its register of MPs' declarations yesterday. Committee co-chairmen Amos Masondo and Aumsen Singh said an investigation into the 14 who had not disclosed their interests would be made "before any consideration of sanctions". Masondo said the 14, who have not been named, would be given seven days in which to "explain their noncompliance". Acting registrar Nthuthuzelo Vanara said the seven days would be counted from when the MPs received letters asking them for an explanation. The letters would be sent "in due course". The MPs with the most considerable financial interests include Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan and Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa. Gordhan holds shares in blue-chip enterprises Naspers, Growthpoint, Spar, MTN, Bidvest, Sasol, BHP Billiton and all of South...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now