Share your views and stand a chance to win a 12 month subscription.
Take survey here

The Cricket World Cup has had many incarnations in its nearly 50 years as a four-yearly event.

In 1975, two teams (Sri Lanka and East Africa) joined the six Test-playing nations by invitation; the 1979 event was preceded by a large qualifying tournament featuring 15 teams that included such heavyweights as Singapore and Papua New Guinea; Israel had a fast bowler called Reuben Reuben...

Subscribe now to unlock this article.

Support BusinessLIVE’s award-winning journalism for R129 per month (digital access only).

There’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in SA. Our subscription packages now offer an ad-free experience for readers.

Cancel anytime.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Sign up (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.