SA supergroup Mango Groove will be releasing its first new album in seven years. The double album, titledFaces to the Sun, is set for release on October 28 and includes nine all-new original tracks.

"Wow, this really was a project of the heart for us: over four years in the making, a lot of new songs we are really proud of and, at the same, time a chance to celebrate our favourite SA songs from the past few decades," says lead singer Claire Johnston.

The album comprises 24 songs, including 15 renditions of classic SA songs and collaborations with some of the country’s top artists.

The collaborations include songs such as "Mmalo We", "Malaika", "The Lion Sleeps Tonight", "Kinders van die Wind" and "Another Country". Featured artists include Rebecca Malope, Vusi Mahlasela, Juanita du Plessis, Zolani Mahola from Freshlyground, Kurt Darren, Romanz, Mo T from Mi Casa, and the last ever recordings of "Big Voice" Jack Lerole.

The lead single is titled "From the Get Go" and other stand-out tracks include "Kind" and the title track, "Faces to the Sun".

"In many ways, for Mango Groove the Faces to the Sun project was about much more than music, as it was about celebrating being South African in all its many forms," says Johnston.

"In essence, the two CDs are really just different sides of the same coin. If [the first CD of the album] Memories and Moments celebrates where we have come from and the great SA tracks that have touched us through the decades, then Here, Now and Forever[the second CD] is very much about Mango Groove today and where we are going in the future."

The new album will be released by Warner Music SA. Says MD Tracy Fraser: "Mango Groove is quite simply SA music royalty. We are very excited to help write the next chapter in their incredible story."

Please sign in or register to comment.