President Jacob Zuma has appointed former Electoral of Commission of SA (IEC) chairwoman Pansy Tlakula as chairwoman of the new Information Regulator, the presidency announced on Wednesday. The appointment was made in terms of section 39 of the Protection of Personal Information Act 2013 and on the recommendation of the National Assembly. Last month, the National Assembly voted for her to chair the regulator despite opposition parties questioning her suitability. The opposition objected on the grounds that a public protector probe had found Tlakula flouted procurement regulations in securing a R320m lease for the IEC’s head office in Centurion. She resigned from the IEC in 2014. Other members of the regulator will be Lebogang Cordelia Stroom and Johannes Collen Weapond as full-time members, and Professor Tana Pistorius and Sizwe Snail Ka Mtuze as part-time members.

Subscribe now to unlock this article.

Support BusinessLIVE’s award-winning journalism for R129 per month (digital access only).

There’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in SA. Our subscription packages now offer an ad-free experience for readers.

Cancel anytime.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Sign up (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.