The ‘Vote of No-confidence’ took place last Tuesday – by secret ballot.  198 MP’s voted against the motion (the ANC has 249 MP’s in parliament).  9 MP’s abstained and 177 voted for it.  This gives a total of 384 votes from 400 MP’s.  Some were clearly absent – or ill – or dead – or they just didn’t vote.  201 votes were needed for the motion to pass. The leadup to the vote of no-confidence included widespread public outrage as even more evidence emerged of the outright theft of many state assets.  It became clear that many ANC MP’s – who had remained silent as the Zupta grouping ran amok – began to feel that they were in danger of causing the ANC’s downfall in future elections, and were trying to distance themselves from this.   Although some of them made public pronouncements condemning the looting cabal, most restricted themselves to expressing private hopes that the attempt to get a ‘secret ballot’ would succeed – thereby allowing them to reject the President ‘in secret’. How the...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now