The African National Congress said on Wednesday that 14 MPs from the ruling party were not in the National Assembly for the crucial vote on the opposition motion to remove President Jacob Zuma.The ANC instructed all its MPs to vote against the motion after a controversy-ridden debate in which the opposition called on Speaker Baleka Mbete to recuse herself. It emerged afterwards that the ANC vote tally was 14 shy of its total number of MPs."All the 14 members who were absent yesterday reported to us and we accepted their reasons of absentia‚" the ANC in Parliament said on its Twitter feed.- TMG Digital. 

Subscribe now to unlock this article.

Support BusinessLIVE’s award-winning journalism for R129 per month (digital access only).

There’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in SA. Our subscription packages now offer an ad-free experience for readers.

Cancel anytime.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Sign up (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.