The Financial Mail won a number of honours at the Sanlam awards for excellence in financial journalism last week.

Claire Bisseker won the economy category, Rob Rose won the financial markets category and Ann Crotty won the lifetime achievement award. In addition, Sikonathi Mantshantsha and Hilary Joffe were finalists in a number of categories. The overall award went to amaBhungane’s Susan Comrie for her work on Eskom.

Overall, the Financial Mail has won 17 Sanlam awards in the past five years.

Speaking at the event, Sanlam CEO Ian Kirk said that the media has served as a vital counterpoint in a year in which a number of SA institutions have been under attack.

"While the country is currently consumed with the revelations that have surfaced from the leaked e-mails, which seem to connect the dots, when all of it is done, we are dependent on financial journalists to report on the implications for the country’s economy and the impact on all of us," he said.

Please sign in or register to comment.