We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Brussels — EU governments agreed on Monday to remove the US from the EU’s safe travel list, meaning US visitors and those from five other countries are likely to face tighter controls, such as Covid-19 tests and quarantines.

Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro and North Macedonia have also been taken off. The list seeks to unify travel rules across the bloc, though it does not bind individual EU nations, which are free to determine their own border policies.

Already some EU countries, such as Germany and Belgium, categorise the US as red, requiring tests and quarantines, while for neighbours France and the Netherlands, the US is classified as safe.

The list is largely compiled on the basis of the Covid-19 situation in each country, with reciprocity also a factor.

Average daily US Covid-19 cases have risen to more than 450 per million people in the week to August 28, compared with below 40 in mid-June when the EU added the US to its list, figures from Our World in Data show.

Case rates for Israel, Kosovo and Montenegro are even higher, the data shows.

The EU safe list now comprises 17 countries, including Canada, Japan and New Zealand.

The bloc still lets in most non-EU visitors who are fully vaccinated, though tests and periods of quarantine can apply, depending on the EU country of arrival.

Despite EU appeals, Washington does not allow European citizens to visit freely. The bloc itself has been divided between those concerned about the lack of reciprocity and increased US cases and others more reliant on tourism and reluctant to restrict US travellers.



Would you like to comment on this article?
Register (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Commenting is subject to our house rules.