Picture: ISTOCK
Picture: ISTOCK

Windhoek — On Wednesday, Namibia criticised its listing on a new EU blacklist of tax havens as unjust and biased, blaming the status on missing a deadline to comply.

Namibia is the only Sub-Saharan African country named in a 17-nation list of non-EU tax havens.

"Namibia is clearly, by any objective criteria, not a tax haven," said its finance minister Calle Schlettwein. The listing is "unjust, prejudiced, partisan, discriminatory and biased", Schlettwein charged.

The list of non-cooperative tax havens adopted by EU ministers on Tuesday also named American Samoa, Bahrain, Barbados, Grenada, Guam, Macau, the Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Palau, Panama, Saint Lucia, Samoa, South Korea, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia and United Arab Emirates.

Schlettwein said Namibia’s blacklisting was based on "miscommunication" as the country had missed a deadline to comply. He added that Namibia would ask the EU to correct the blacklisting, saying it would cause serious harm to the country’s "outstanding reputation as a politically stable democracy". He added that the lower-middle-income country was, instead, "exposed to illicit outflow of cash, as has been revealed in the recently published Paradise Papers".

The minister said he hoped the EU would help Namibia, a country of 2.4 million people, fight questionable flows of money from the country.


Please sign in or register to comment.