Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates resume their rivalry when the two most popular sides in Southern Africa face off at FNB Stadium on Saturday. Below are facts and figures from SA’s grand "classico" as Chiefs and Pirates get ready to meet in the latest instalment. There have been 163 Soweto derbies‚ 67 have been won by Chiefs and 39 by Pirates. There have been 52 draws and five abandoned matches. Chiefs have 210 Soweto derby goals while the tally for Bucs is 172. Pirates are unbeaten in the last nine derbies‚ which is their longest unbeaten run, but they are still short of the 11-match unbeaten run Chiefs had against Bucs between May 1985 and November 1988. Pule "Ace" Ntsoelengoe scored a record 19 times in the derby matches for Chiefs‚ way ahead of Nelson "Teenage" Dladla and Abednego "Shaka" Ngcobo on 11. Pirates’ top scorer in the derbies is Jomo Sono with nine goals. The majority of the derbies — 64 — have now been played at Soccer City compared with 59 at Orlando Stadium. The la...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, Morningstar financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00.