Pieter-Steph du Toit was deservedly named 2018 SA Rugby player of the year on Thursday following a stellar season, to become only the fifth player to win the award twice since 1992. The utility forward‚ who is equally comfortable at flank and lock‚ joined modern Bok greats Bryan Habana (2005‚ 2007 and 2012)‚ Schalk Burger (2004 and 2011)‚ Jean de Villiers (2008 and 2013) and Fourie du Preez (2006 and 2009) as multiple winners. Du Toit also had the honour of becoming Springbok captain No. 60 when he led the team against Wales in Washington in 2018. The 26-year-old Du Toit‚ who has collected 46 caps since his Test debut in 2013‚ was sublime in the green and gold in 2018. His efforts on the field saw him edge out fellow Boks Aphiwe Dyanyti‚ Franco Mostert‚ Handré Pollard and Malcolm Marx for the top award. Du Toit made a staggering 202 tackles‚ 128 ball carries and took 28 lineouts in 14 Tests last year. He and Steven Kitshoff are the only players who featured in every Springbok match ...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now