Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus named three uncapped players in his 35-man Rugby Championship squad on Monday. Stormers flyhalf Damian Willemse‚ Bulls flank Marco van Staden and Lions flank Cyle Brink are the uncapped players. Former skippers Warren Whiteley and Eben Etzebeth are also included while there is a recall for veteran openside flanker Francois Louw. Also returning to the Springbok squad are hooker Malcolm Marx‚ Lwazi Mvovo (outside back)‚ as well as Lionel Mapoe (centre) and Ross Cronjé (scrumhalf)‚ both of whom have missed the midyear Tests because of injury. Louw has represented the Boks in 57 Tests and Erasmus said he would add a lot of experience to the group. "Eben and Warren have been out of the Bok mix for a while because of injury so it’s very pleasing to have them back in the squad‚ while Malcolm has regained his good form with the Lions since recovering from his injury‚" said Erasmus‚ who added that the participation of Brink and Jean-Luc Preez (loose forward) de...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now