London — New Zealand opening batsman Martin Guptill and SA fast bowler Dale Steyn have become the latest international stars to sign up for the new Euro T20 Slam, which starts in August, organisers announced on Tuesday.

Guptill will join his former captain Brendon McCullum, England one-day skipper Eoin Morgan, Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi, Australia’s Shane Watson and Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan as an “icon player”.

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now