Former economic development minister Ebrahim Patel and his former counterpart in the agriculture, forestry and fisheries department, Senzeni Zokwana, are among notable figures not returning to parliament next week. The two were joined by former deputy ministers Thabang Makwetla, Sifiso Buthelezi and Andries Nel, who  all failed to make the cut. But ANC leaders implicated in corruption, state capture allegations and lying under oath made the list of candidates to the National Assembly, while other long-standing party members did not. Controversial characters including former ministers Nomvula Mokonyane, Bathabile Dlamini, Malusi Gigaba and Faith Muthambi will be sworn in as ANC MPs in parliament on Wednesday, May 22. On Wednesday, Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) chairperson Glen Mashinini handed the lists of successful candidates to the National Assembly and provincial legislatures to Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng at the Constitutional Court in Johannesburg. In turn, Mogoeng...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now