The new national executive committee is set to play a decisive role in ANC politics following the election of a leadership split down the middle. Shortly after the top six officials of the ANC were announced, nominations for the 80 national executive committee (NEC) members were tabled in the plenary session. Delegates will vote for a new NEC, as the previous one was dissolved before the new top officials were announced. The ANC therefore does not have an NEC. The nominations indicated that police minister and former NEC member Fikile Mbalula received the most nominations from the branches. He was followed by Ronald Lamola, who was deputy president of the ANC Youth League when Julius Malema was heading it. Joel Netshitenzhe, Ayanda Dlodlo, Malusi Gigaba, Baleka Mbete and Zweli Mkhize are all on the top end of the nominations list released on Monday evening. Nkosazana Dlamini–Zuma also accepted nomination, as did Carl Niehaus, who acted as her informal spokesman during the presidenti...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now