Read the latest e-paper

E-Editions: Business Day and Financial Mail Online
Read Now

Opposition parties are confident that a significant number of ANC MPs will vote in favour of the motion of no confidence in President Jacob Zuma if the parliamentary vote is done in secret. Three ANC MPs who spoke to Business Day on condition of anonymity said on Sunday they were prepared to vote in favour of the motion. The matter is also likely to take centre stage when the ANC national executive committee holds its midyear lekgotla on Thursday, when it will assess the party’s performance. National Assembly Speaker Baleka Mbete is still to decide whether the vote on August 8 will be open or by secret ballot. "I think it’s clear that some of us are prepared to support this motion … but to protect the MPs that go against the party line, this vote should be a secret ballot," said one ANC MP. For the motion to succeed, at least 50 of the 249 ANC MPs will need to break ranks. The National Assembly has 400 members. In November 2016‚ the ANC used its majority to quash the DA’s attempt to...

Subscribe now to unlock this article.

Support BusinessLIVE’s award-winning journalism for R129 per month (digital access only).

There’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in SA. Our subscription packages now offer an ad-free experience for readers.

Cancel anytime.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Sign up (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.