We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Domestic cricket in SA will return to the provincial first-class structure on which it was built from 1889 until the formation of the franchise system in 2003. The change back to provincial hubs and the dismantling of the franchises will take place in 2022, according to Cricket SA.     The change will bring great happiness and satisfaction to Paarl and East London, in particular, although the smiles in Kimberley and Potchefstroom will be no less wide. Smiles will be replaced with tears in Pietermaritzburg, however, as the new plan involves cutting KwaZulu-Natal Inland out of future plans. Limpopo and Mpumalanga will also be included although not at first-class level.     Details have yet to be worked out, but one thing is certain: if there are some good cricketing outcomes from such a change, they are happy accidents. This is not a move made for cricketing reasons, it is the result of financial desperation. Or, as Cricket SA said on Saturday, “austerity plans”.    When the franchise...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now

Would you like to comment on this article?
Register (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Commenting is subject to our house rules.