We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

The recent adoption of the Key Biodiversity Areas Standard is a major breakthrough for global conservation. It has brought together 12 of the largest conservation nongovernmental organisations (NGOs) worldwide to promote the identification of the most important sites for conserving biodiversity, which is rapidly declining. The standard sets out global criteria for the identification of key biodiversity areas (KBAs) — natural places all around the world that are home to the most important populations of wild animal and plants — that require urgent conservation. "This is the first time the conservation community has come together to develop a set of agreed-upon, standardised criteria to identify sites of global importance for biodiversity," says Daniel Marnewick, manager of the important bird biodiversity areas programme at BirdLife South Africa.

"Establishing a single measurable for all taxa [taxonomic groups] and ecosystems to identify the most important sites naturally requir...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now