Labour minister Mildred Oliphant has finally appointed the 13-member national minimum wage commission following a tussle over candidates that delayed the implementation of the law in 2018. Business Day has been reliably informed that Oliphant will publicly announce the members of the commission this week. The new commission will be chaired by professor Adriaan van der Walt, a labour law academic at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in Port Elizabeth. He occupied the same position at the Employment Conditions Commission. Other appointees include Global Business Solutions CEO Jonathan Goldberg and Nedbank executive Kaizer Moyane, who were nominated by the business grouping at the National Economic Development and Labour Council (Nedlac). Wits University’s dean of commerce, law and management, professor Imraan Valodia, who chaired the expert panel that recommended the R20 rate, senior economist at Trade & Industrial Policy Strategies Neva Makgetla and associate professor of so...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now