Eskom will stop supplying electricity to three Free State municipalities, including  the Mangaung metro which has Bloemfontein in it, due to contravention of payment conditions, the power utility announced on Monday.

It did not say how much the three municipalities owed.

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now