Government is developing a new marriage policy for the country with a view to creating one single consolidated marriages act, home affairs minister Aaron Motsoaledi has said.

Currently, marriages in SA are regulated through three pieces of legislation: the Marriage Act of 1961, which is for monogamous marriages for opposite sex couples of largely Western and Christian backgrounds; the Recognition of Customary Marriages Act of 1998, which caters for traditional, polygamous marriages for opposite sex couples; and the Civil Unions Act of 2006, which makes provision for monogamous partnerships for both same and opposite sex couples.

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now