Carol Paton Writer at Large

Former cabinet ministers who resign from parliament for financial reasons after not being reappointed would be better advised to stay on and earn MPs’ salaries.

Of the 14 former cabinet ministers who were not picked by President Cyril Ramaphosa, five have resigned, some of them saying they did so to protect their “ministerial pension”. They are Nomaindia Mfeketo, Jeff Radebe, Susan Shabangu, Tokozile Xasa and Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba. 

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now