Cyril Ramaphosa has been elected president of SA at the first sitting of the National Assembly held on Wednesday.  This comes after ANC deputy president David Mabuza took the decision to postpone his swearing-in, following the integrity commission's report naming him as one of those who had possibly brought the party into disrepute.  As expected, senior ANC MP Thandi Modise was elected as speaker of the National Assembly, the highest position in the legislature. Lechesa Tsenoli was elected deputy speaker, for a second term.  Nomvula Mokonyane, environmental affairs minister in the last administration, was not sworn in, with the ANC confirming that she had decided to withdraw from parliament. This comes after Malusi Gigaba and former speaker Baleka Mbete withdrew their names from the ANC’s parliamentary list on Tuesday. Mokonyane was also on the list of people the integrity commission reportedly named.

MPs who served as Cabinet ministers in the previous administration and who b...

Subscribe now to unlock this article.

Support BusinessLIVE’s award-winning journalism for R129 per month (digital access only).

There’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in SA. Our subscription packages now offer an ad-free experience for readers.

Cancel anytime.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Sign up (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.