Parliament . Picture: THE TIMES
Parliament . Picture: THE TIMES

A record number of 14 political parties will be represented in the sixth National Assembly, with three new players getting seats, and Agang SA, the brainchild of Mamphela Ramphele and Themba Godi’s African People’s Convention, losing their positions in the House. 

The 400 seats in parliament are divided among the political parties that received enough votes to guarantee them seats.

Historically 13 political parties have been represented in the National Assembly, IEC chair Glen Mashinini said. But due to the record number of parties that contested the general elections 14 parties are now represented.

The ANC retained its position of power in the country, but with a reduced majority of 57.5%. This means the party received the most seats, with 230. This is 19 fewer than it had in the previous administration.

The ANC’s Fikile Mbalula said on Thursday that had it not been for President Cyril Ramaphosa, the party would have dropped as low as 40%. It also appears from trends emerging from the townships, especially in Gauteng, that black voters turned out strongly for Ramaphosa, reversing the party’s losses in the local government election in 2016 of 53.9%.

The DA will be getting 84 seats, five fewer than before. 

The EFF almost doubled its seats in parliament, from 25 in 2014 to 44 in 2019.

The IFP, Freedom Front Plus (FF+) and the African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP) all increased their seats.

The IFP received 14 seats, up from 10; the FF+ 10, from four; and the ACDP four, from three.

Newcomers African Transformation Movement (ATM), which counts former government spokesperson and erstwhile ANC member Mzwanele Manyi among its officials, and former DA mayor of Cape Town Patricia de Lille’s Good party will be entering the National Assembly for the first time with two seats each.

Muslim party Al Jama will also have a seat for the first time.

Cope, the National Freedom Party (NFP), UDM and the African Independent Congress (AIC) lost seats. Cope dropped from three to two seats, the NFP from six to two, the UDM from four to two and the AIC from three to two.

The Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC) retained its one seat.