We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) released the shortlist of candidates for President Cyril Ramaphosa to appoint the next two Constitutional Court justices, on Wednesday evening. The JSC had to remove only one candidate from the six interviewed, given the constitutional requirements for how many names should be submitted to Ramaphosa for consideration. They will be his first appointments to the bench since he took office in February 2018. The top court has 11 permanent members on the bench, but the positions were left vacant following the promotion of deputy chief justice Raymond Zondo in March 2017, and the retirement of justice Bess Nkabinde in 2018.  The candidates were high court judges Annali Basson, Patricia Goliath, Jody Kollapen and Fayeeza Kathree-Setiloane, and Supreme Court of Appeal (SCA) judges Stevan Majiedt and Zukisa Tshiqi. The JSC removed Kathree-Setiloane, who is a judge at the high court in Johannesburg and was retired Constitutional Court justice Yvonne Mo...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now

Would you like to comment on this article?
Register (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Commenting is subject to our house rules.