A total of 48 political parties will contest the 2019 elections, Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) chief electoral officer Sy Mamabolo said on Wednesday. This was 19 more parties than the 2014 general election, he said. IEC chair Glen Mashinini said a record number of political parties would take part in the election, with a significant number of them contesting for the first time. A number of new parties managed to pay the deposit to contest elections, such as Patricia de Lille’s Good, Numsa’s Socialist Revolutionary Workers Party, former SABC COO Hlaudi Motsoeneng’s the African Content Movement, the controversial Black First Land First (BLF) and the Capitalist Party of SA. Political parties had to pay a R200,000 deposit to take part in the national elections. A further R45,000 had to be paid for each provincial election contested. This means that a party contesting national and all provincial elections would have to pay a deposit of R605,000. Mamabolo said Gauteng had the highest n...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now