South Africans will know after 5pm on Wednesday which political parties will contest the 2019 national and provincial elections. The elections will take place on May 8 and are expected to be hotly contested. This will especially be the case in Gauteng where the ANC risks falling below the majority threshold in SA’s economic hub. According to the election timetable, only those registered political parties that have paid their deposits and submitted candidate lists by 5pm will be allowed to contest the elections. By 9am on Tuesday, 22 political parties had registered, the Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) said, while about 34 parties had indicated that they would contest. Parties also have until the close of business on Wednesday to submit their lists of candidates to become the party’s representatives in the National Assembly, the National Council of Provinces, and in the provincial legislatures. The IEC said lists must contain no more than 400 candidates for the national election and...

Subscribe now to unlock this article.

Support BusinessLIVE’s award-winning journalism for R129 per month (digital access only).

There’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in SA. Our subscription packages now offer an ad-free experience for readers.

Cancel anytime.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Sign up (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.