Eskom has appointed a technical review team, which will look at the operations, maintenance and technical environment at the ailing utility’s power stations, the department of public enterprises announced on Monday. The 11-person team, made up of industry specialists which includes academic, engineering and power systems professionals, will review Eskom’s power stations within four weeks of commencement of their work, spokesman Adrian Lackay said. It will be led by two co-ordinators, Tsakani Mthombeni, who is already a member of President Cyril Ramaphosa’s Eskom task team, and Ian Morrison. Last month Eskom, which has struggled with maintenance issues and design flaws at its poorly constructed power stations, Medupi and Kusile, had to resort to load-shedding as it could not meet demand. During his budget speech in February finance minister Tito Mboweni announced that government will support Eskom with R23bn a year for three years, rising to R150bn over 10 years to shore up the utili...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now