We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

In a statement‚ the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) said some voting stations were unable to open on time due to access to the stations being prevented by protest action‚ including the barricading of roads. The commission’s spokesperson‚ Kate Bapela‚ said approximately 140 voting stations (0.6 percent) around the country didn’t open due to community protests. Areas where community protests were reported included: • Eastern Cape: Amahlati; Mbizana; Thabankulu • Free State: Bloemfontein (Khayelitsha) • Gauteng: Tshwane (Mooiplaas; Pienaarspoort); Ekurhuleni (Kathlehong; Boksburg; Sebokeng); West Rand (Munsieville); Johannesburg (Lawley; Ivory Park) • KwaZulu-Natal: Ulundi; uMsunduzi; Ndwedwe; • Limpopo: Elias Motsoaledi; Polokwane; Ramamabolo; Giyani; • Mpumalanga: Gert Sibande; Sekunda; Bushbuckridge • North West: Rustenburg • Northern Cape: Dikgatlhong • Western Cape: Gugulethu The commission has urged all South Africans to make use of the final opening of voting stations thi...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now