Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) vice-chair Terry Tselane is leaving office on Friday as three new commissioners join the organisation on Monday. Tselane, after 18 years at the IEC, told Business Day that he was informed on Tuesday that his last day would be on Friday and not at the end of November, as he had anticipated. The IEC had three vacancies for commissioners, implying that the key 2019 election will be the first national poll run by an almost entirely inexperienced team of commissioners. The outgoing vice-chair said it was his understanding that President Cyril Ramaphosa had ratified the three names put forward by parliament, which include controversial former chief electoral officer Mosotho Moepya. This presidency did not immediately respond to a request for comment. The other two candidates are judge Dhayanithie Pillay and Dr Nomsa Praisy Masuku. They are replacing Tselane and Bongani Finca, whose terms end in November, and judge Thami Makhanya, whose term expired in Apri...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, Morningstar financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00.