Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan has been crowned business leader of the year at the prestigious 2016 Sunday Times Top 100 Companies awards. SA’s captains of industry gathered in Sandton on Tuesday night to celebrate the top-performing companies on the JSE. Johann Rupert was awarded the Sunday Times lifetime achievement award, and CalgroM3 was announced as the Sunday Times top company for 2016. The awards acknowledge those companies with the highest shareholder returns over the past five years. The Sunday Times business leader of the year award recipient was decided on by CEOs noted on the previous year’s list. Gordhan joins an elite list of prominent business leaders including Johan van Zyl, Michael Jordaan, Phuthuma Nhleko, Johann Rupert, Brian Joffe, Graham Mackay, Maria Ramos, Adrian Gore, Whitey Basson and Christo Wiese. Read the full report here: Pravin Gordhan named Business Leader of the Year by SA’s Top 100 Companies

Subscribe now to unlock this article.

Support BusinessLIVE’s award-winning journalism for R129 per month (digital access only).

There’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in SA. Our subscription packages now offer an ad-free experience for readers.

Cancel anytime.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Sign up (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.