The Mercedes-Benz A-Class is SA’s 2019 Car of the Year, as voted for by the Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ). It is only the second Mercedes victory in the 34 year history of the competition, after the Mercedes 260 won it in 1987. The winner was announced at a Johannesburg gala event on Thursday night after being selected from 11 other finalists in the AutoTrader-sponsored competition. The Porsche Cayenne was in second place with the Volvo XC 40 third. The other finalits were the Nissan Micra, Suzuki Swift, Honda Civic Type R, Lexus ES, Suzuki Jimny, Renault Duster, Alfa Romeo Stelvio, Hyundai Kona, and Mitsubishi Pajero Sport. Jury members of the SAGMJ in March tested all 12 finalists with each vehicle scored against its direct class competitors on aspects such as exterior and interior design, engine and transmission performance, ride and handling, braking, safety features, overall excellence and affordability.  For the first time in the 34-year history of the annual contest, ...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now