Lewis Hamilton has admitted Michael Schumacher’s all-time record of 91 Formula One race wins and seven titles are in his sights. The Mercedes driver won his fifth crown in Sunday’s Mexican Grand Prix, only the third man to reach that milestone after Germany’s Schumacher and Argentina’s Juan Manual Fangio. "I’ve still got things to achieve, there are so many targets, so many things ahead," the Briton told reporters after finishing fourth to take an unassailable lead with two races remaining. The race was won by Red Bull’s Max Verstappen ahead of Ferrari duo Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen. "Michael’s still quite far ahead in race wins so you have to say he is still the GOAT (greatest of all time)," said Hamilton. "Fangio, I think, is the godfather and always will be, from a driver’s perspective." Hamilton, 33, has won four of his titles in the last five years and has a contract with champions Mercedes for two more years. Mercedes are heading for their fifth successive constructor...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now