The 2016 FIM Moto 3 World Champion Brad Binder was announced as the Bridgestone SA-SA Guild of Motoring Journalists Motor Sportsman of the Year. He was recognised for his dominant performance on his Red Bull KTM last season, while Zwartkops Raceway owner, Peter du Toit, was presented with the 2016 Colin Watling Award for extraordinary contributions behind the scenes of South African motorsport. Dakar hero, Joey Evans, who was paralysed in a race crash 10 years ago and fought back to accomplish the impossible dream of finishing Dakar 2017 on his KTM, took the Off Track Rider of the Year award, and double SA Rally and Cross Country Champion Leeroy Poulter took the Off Track Driver of the Year prize. Binder was also awarded the Circuit Rider of the Year Award, while European Audi Sport TT Cup racer, Sheldon van der Linde, who won four races — more than any of his TT Cup rivals in 2016 — took the Circuit Driver of the Year Award. Meanwhile, 12-year-old Rotax World Mini Max Karting Champ...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, Morningstar financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Times Select.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00.