We've got news for you.

Register on BusinessLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Julian Barnes, Salman Rushdie, Martin Amis, Ian McEwan, Graham Swift and Kazuo Ishiguro have long been members of the hallowed literary boys’ club that had its beginnings in the eighties, all of them having come under fire for dominating the literary scene of the time. That their supposed hegemony might be attributed to the extraordinary variety and brilliance of their prose is an argument for another day.

Barnes has been especially prolific since the publication of his first novel, the coming-of-age story Metroland (1980). It was his third book, Flaubert’s Parrot (1984), that established his reputation as an original and powerful novelist. He won the Man Booker Prize in 2011 with The Sense of an Ending, having being shortlisted three times previously with Flaubert’s Parrot, England, England (1998) and Arthur & George (2005)...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@businesslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now