The SA Reserve Bank has designated six of SA’s largest banks as systemically important financial institutions (Sifis). 

The banks — Absa, Standard Bank, FirstRand Bank, Nedbank, Investec and Capitec Bank — were named for the first time in the latest edition of the Reserve Bank’s financial stability review, released on Thursday. ..

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as articles from our international business news partners; ProfileData financial data; and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now