Christo Wiese, the long-time chair of Shoprite, has indicated he will resign before the next Shoprite annual general meeting (AGM), in an announcement made by the listed retailer on Friday.

Shoprite has started a search for his replacement, who will be independent, it said. Wiese has been chair since 1979...

BL Premium

This article is reserved for our subscribers.

A subscription helps you enjoy the best of our business content every day along with benefits such as exclusive Financial Times articles, ProfileData financial data, and digital access to the Sunday Times and Sunday Times Daily.

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00. Got a subscription voucher? Redeem it now